Award Recipients Added to the Australians of the Year Walk - 2013

Media Release

25 January 2013

25 January 2013

The newest recipients of the Australian of the Year awards will be added to the lakeside walk of the same name tomorrow.

The four recipients have their names and images on a newly installed photo anodised aluminium plaque on one of the plinths along the walk.

NCA Chief Executive, Gary Rake said the Australians of the Year Walk was opened seven years ago.

'The walk comprises a series of plinths, seating and lighting along the shores of the lake by Commonwealth Bridge,' said Mr Rake.

'Along the path you can see five metal strips set into the path that represent the five music stave lines.

'The plinths are place in musical note position to the score of Advance Australia Fair and there is one plaque on each plinth for each year of the award. The plaques are arranged chronologically from the western end of the walk.'

The Australian of the Year Award was first presented on 26 January 1960 and continues annually today.

There are three categories complementing the original award: the Young Australian of the Year (introduced in 1979), Senior Australian (1999) and the Local Hero Awards (2003).