Go to top of page

Lake Burley Griffin Activities and Lake User Groups

Lake Burley Griffin (the Lake) is the setting for many water based activities. Thousands of people every year use the Lake for peaceful recreation or active, competitive sporting events. Some of these activities are part of the Lake User Groups (LUG).

The NCA facilitates the Lake User Group (LUG) which meets quarterly. Formed in 2004, LUG enables the communication of Lake matters, events and management issues to those user groups and individuals who may be affected by these. Many LUG members are membership based organisations, peak sporting bodies and commercial operators.

If you have ever thought about joining a Lake User Group, but did not know what is out there, here is a list of organised groups which use the Lake in various ways.

Lake User Groups

Lake User Group Activity Contact/web address
ANU Boat Club Rowing president@anuboatclub.org
Black Mountain Rowing Club Rowing secretary@bmrc.org.au
Burley Griffin Canoe Club Canoeing www.bgcc.org.au
Canberra Fisherman’s Club Fishing www.canberrafishos.com
Canberra Grammar School Rowing www.cgs.act.edu.au
Canberra Girls Grammar School Rowing www.cggs.act.edu.au
Capital Region Fishing Alliance (CRFA) Fishing

www.info@crfa.org.au

Canberra Nippers Surf Life Saving canberranippers@gmail.com
Canberra Rowing Club Rowing captain@canberrarowingclub.org.au
Capital Lakes Rowing Club Rowing capitallakes@gmail.com
Canberra Yacht Club Sailing reception.yachtclub@cscc.com.au
Canberra Dragon Boats Association Dragon Boating

president@bdbact.com.au

Daramalan Rowing Rowing http://www.daramalan.act.edu.au/our-school/sport/rowing/
Dragons Abreast Australia Dragon Boating office@dragonsabreast.org.au
Ice Dragons Paddle Club Dragon Boating president@icedragons.com.au
Lake Burley Griffin Guardians Special Interest Group lakeburleygriffinguardians@gmail.com
Molonglo Catchment Group Environmental Interest Group www.molonglocatchment.org.au
National Museum of Australia Paddle Steamer Operator information@nma.gov.au
Radford Rowing Rowing reception@radford.act.edu.au
Riversmart Environmental Interest Group

ceo@riversmart.org.au

Rowing ACT Rowing reception@radford.act.edu.au
Rowing Australia Rowing www.rowingaustralia.com.au
Sea Scouts Sailing Club Sailing actscouts@act.scouts.asn.au
Traditional Boat Squadron Australia Special Interest Group www.tradboatsact.com
Triathlon ACT Triathlons admin@act.triathlon.org.au
Yachting ACT Sailing www.act.yachting.org.au
YMCA Sailing Club Sailing sailing.club@ymca.org.au

Groups interested in joining the Lake User Group should contact the NCA via LUG@nca.gov.au