Award Recipients added to the Australians of the Year Walk - 2015

Media Release

23 January 2015

The newest recipients of the Australian of the Year awards will be added to the lakeside walk of the same name on Monday.

The names and images of the 2015 recipients will appear on a newly installed plaque located along the Walk.

NCA Chief Executive, Malcolm Snow said the Australians of the Year Walk was opened nine years ago and has added a popular point of interest to the lake edge.

'The space comprises a series of plinths, seating and lighting along the shores of the lake by Commonwealth Bridge,' said Mr Snow.

'Along the path you can see five metal strips set into the path that represent the five music stave lines.

'The plinths are placed in musical note position to the score of Advance Australia Fair and there is one plaque on each plinth for each year of the award.

The plaques are arranged chronologically from the western end of the walk.'

The Australian of the Year Award was first presented on 26 January 1960 and continues annually today.

There are three categories complementing the original award: the Young Australian of the Year (introduced in 1979), Senior Australian (1999) and the Local Hero Awards (2003).