Our Board

Our board, also called 'the Authority', is the primary decision-making body and provides the National Capital Authority’s strategic direction. Read more about the board.

Our Staff

The National Capital Authority is made up of three (3) branches and nine (9) sections responsible for; Strategic Planning, Planning and Heritage, Design and Construction, Finance and Business Resources, Business Systems, Estate Management, Public Affairs, Education and Marketing, Events and Place Activation, Governance and Legal Services. See information on our executive and the areas they look after.


The NCA offers three Volunteer Programs across the National Triangle that will give you the opportunity to meet new people through playing an active role in the education of locals and visitors. Read more about our volunteer program.

Canberra National Memorials Committee

The Committee approves the location and character of national memorials in the ACT. Read more about the Canberra National Memorials Committee.

History of the NCA

The National Capital has a rich and interesting planning history going back to the early 20th century, following the creation of the Federal Capital Territory (now the Australian Capital Territory). Read the history of the NCA.