Our board, also called 'the Authority', is the National Capital Authority's primary decision-making body and provides the agency's strategic direction. The board comprises the Chair, Chief Executive of the National Capital Authority, and three non-executive members. The board usually meets six times each year. The most recent meeting records are available below.

Mr Terry Weber 

Mr Terry Weber, Chair

Mr Terry Weber was re-appointed on 21 March 2019 as (part-time) Chair of the Authority for three years from 12 June 2019.  Mr Weber has been a Member of the Authority since 12 June 2014 and Chair since 1 January 2015.

Mr Weber is a Senior Partner and Federal Government Lead Partner in Pricewaterhouse Coopers’ Canberra consulting practice. He provides specialist guidance in the areas of property, infrastructure and facilities management; financial management; and service delivery models for Australian and international governments, and major corporate organisations.

From 2000 to 2008 Mr Weber was the Chief Executive Officer for UGL (United) Services, a leading global corporate real estate and outsourcing business services organisation. Mr Weber is a long-term Canberran and is currently serving on several boards, including the Canberra Raiders and the Ricky Stuart Foundation.

Mr Dennis Richardson AO 

Mr Dennis Richardson AC, Member

Mr Dennis Richardson AC was appointed as a part-time member on 18 September 2017 for a period of five years.

Mr Richardson is a former Secretary of the Department of Defence, and Foreign Affairs and Trade; Australian Ambassador to the United States; and Director-General of the Australian Security Intelligence Organisation.

Mr Richardson is a long-time Canberran and is currently serving on the Board of the Canberra Raiders, Linfox Australia and a number of other Boards.

Ms Jenny Smithson 

Ms Jenny Smithson, Member

Ms Jenny Smithson was appointed to the Authority on 11 June 2020 for a period of five years.

Ms Smithson is a qualified and experienced Town Planner and former, and current Acting, Commissioner of the New South Wales Land and Environment Court and former Sessional Member of the Western Australian State Administrative Tribunal.Joining the Authority from Sydney and previously from Perth, previous board positions include the Western Australian Land Development Authority (LandCorp); former Senior Principal of international engineering based consultancy, Cardno BSD Pty Ltd; the Planning Institute of Australia and BSD Consultants.

James Willson 

Mr James Willson, Member

Mr James Willson was appointed to the Authority on 1 October 2020 for a period of five years.

Mr Willson is a long standing Canberra business person committed to the local region and is the Managing Director and agency founder of CRE8IVE.

Previous board positions held by Mr Willson include Regional Development Australia ACT, Australian Foundation for Mental Health Research, Canberra Business Chamber, Canberra Hospital Foundation and Snowy Mountain. This is in addition to current board terms with CIT Solutions, Canberra Grammar School and RSPCA ACT.

Sally Barnes 

Ms Sally Barnes, Member and Chief Executive

Ms Sally Barnes commenced as the Chief Executive of the NCA on 12 February 2018, as part of a five year appointment.

Previously, Ms Barnes was the Director, National Parks in the Commonwealth Department of Environment and Energy. Ms Barnes is an experienced executive, and was the Chief Executive of the Office of Environment and Heritage in the NSW Government from 2012 to 2014. Ms Barnes was awarded the ACT Excellence in Women’s Leadership award for 2017.

Authority Meeting Records

The public records of each meeting are listed below. As some matters are personal, privileged and/or confidential, these records follow, but do not completely represent, the formal minutes of each meeting.